Song of Pensive Beholding - Legend Lin Dance Theatre of Taiwan

Acclaimed in Europe and the US, now making its highly anticipated Hong Kong début

"Every motion in this dance takes my breath away" – Guy Darmet, Artistic Director, Lyon Dance Biennial

Hailed as "a genius choreographer in Taiwan's dance scene", Lin Lee-chen founded the Legend Lin Dance Theatre in 1995. Meditative and majestically elegant, the group's unique approach has made it a favourite at renowned international festivals such as Festival d'Avignon, Lyon Dance Biennial and Festival de Otoño, where the group has attracted a host of enthusiastic admirers.

In 2002, Lin was named among the eight most significant choreographers in the world by ARTE, one of the most important art and culture television channels in Europe. The group's original language of dance, which is not beholden to any overseas schools, helped Lin to receive Taiwan's most prestigious award for arts in 2005.

A flagship production of Taiwan's CKS Cultural Center in 2009, Song of Pensive Beholding took Lin nine years to create and refine. As the finale of her Heaven, Earth and Man trilogy, the dance work is imbued with the intensity and spiritual essence of ritual theatre, expressing its concern for the Earth through the mythical story of a race of eagles. Stripped to the minimal, Lin's reductionist yet powerful dance vocabulary interweaves with the sets, building dense visual imagery and symbolic meaning. Having visited different local tribes to collect traditional folk crafts, Lin teamed up with Oscar-winning art director Tim Yip to design costumes and props that create an exquisite yet potent visual impact and a truly eastern aesthetic encounter.

Lin Lee-chen brings Legend Lin Dance Theatre to Hong Kong for the first time, generating an unparalleled spiritual encounter distilled from her own life experience and reflections on art and the soul.


4 - 5.11 (Fri - Sat) 8pm
Kwai Tsing Theatre Auditorium

 ■ $280 ■ $220 ■ $160 ■ $130

Some $130 seats may have restricted view
Approx 2 hours without intermission
This programme contains nudity
Meet-the-artist session after the performance on 4 November
Please click for details of talk and lecture demonstration





Photos: Cheng-Tsai Chin and Tien-Mou Chen

Commissioned by

2009 NTCH Flagship Production


Artist group sponsored by

觀 ─ 台灣
無垢舞蹈劇場

蜚聲歐美 驚艷亞洲 首度載譽來港

「你(林麗珍)舞作的一舉一動,把我的呼吸都帶走了」-里昂雙年舞蹈節藝術總監基達梅

被譽為「台灣舞蹈界編舞奇才」的林麗珍,1995年成立無垢舞蹈劇場,以別樹一幟、沉緩細緻的東方身體美學,多年來風靡法國亞維儂藝術節、里昂國際雙年舞蹈節和馬德里秋季藝術節等國際知名藝術節,獲觀眾熱烈追捧。

2002年,林麗珍獲歐洲最重要的文化藝術電視台ARTE選為世界八大編舞家之一。2005年,林麗珍以「未曾師承任何外國舞蹈流派」的原創身體語言獲台灣最高榮譽的文藝獎。

作為2009年台灣兩廳院的旗艦製作,《觀》是林麗珍「天地人」三部曲的終章, 以九年時間凝煉而成, 繼續儀式劇場的莊嚴純淨, 以鷹族的寓言故事,表達對土地的關懷。舞台意象紛呈,肢體簡單而厚重,沉緩而鋒利。由林麗珍深入不同族群,親手採自民間古老工藝的服裝與道具,意涵深遠,經奧斯卡最佳美術設計葉錦添共同打造,呈現精緻震撼的視覺效果,散發極致東方美。

林麗珍攜無垢舞蹈劇場首次訪港,帶來她以自身生命歷練,融合藝術與心靈反思,只此一家的內在靈魂風景。


4 - 5.11 (五 - 六) 8pm
葵青劇院演藝廳

 ■ $280 ■ $220 ■ $160 ■ $130

部分$130座位視線受阻
節目全長約2小時,不設中場休息
本節目含有裸露場面
11月4日設有演後藝人談
附設講座示範講座





相片: 金成財及陳點墨

委製單位

2009台灣兩廳院旗艦製作

藝團贊助單位