Angélique Kidjo (Benin)
“Africa’s premier diva”
– Time Magazine
“The undisputed queen of African music”
– The Daily Telegraph

One of The Guardian’s “Top 100 Most Inspiring Women in the World”
Two Grammy Awards


A powerful, warm-hearted voice that embraces the world

Steeped in the expansive musical landscape of Africa, the thrilling vocals of Angélique Kidjo, a two-time Grammy Award winner, resonate with the heart and lift the soul skywards. This wonderful gift for song, along with her passionate advocacy for African children and women’s rights, has been shared with the world at many diverse events over past decades, including the 2010 FIFA World Cup Kick-Off Celebration Concert in South Africa, Nobel Peace Prize concerts and special shows at the United Nations General Assembly. Imbued with her infectious vitality and joy for life, Kidjo’s aura and magical musicality ensure an exhilarating encounter wherever she appears, transcending race, culture and language.

Born and raised in Benin, Kidjo discovered her affinity for music early, first performing with her mother’s theatre troupe at the age of six. Since then, her spell-binding journey as a vocalist has seen her draw on jazz, soul, reggae, folk, Afropop and Afrobeat, among other influences, to create an iconic blend of her own. She sings in English, French, Yoruba and Fon. For her début concert in Hong Kong, the mesmerising singer-songwriter teams up with an ensemble of top musicians to empower a night of high-energy insight, celebrating the rich heritage of Africa and our shared humanity.

Hong Kong Cultural Centre Concert Hall
MAP
29.10
(Thu)
8pm
$450
$350
$250
$150*
* Some seats may have a restricted view
Friendly Reminder
  • Approx. 1 hour and 30 minutes without intermission


Photo credit: Pierre Marie Zimmerman
111
A Matter of Choice

Wong Chi-chung / Has been working in music, media, art and culture, and education for more than 30 years. He is currently the Assistant Director of General Education Unit at the University of Hong Kong, and a guest DJ for CR2 FM903.

Before the Internet age took over and put the window to world cultures at our fingertips, exotic performances touring to Hong Kong were often sold out in no time. While the concert business in Hong Kong is thriving nowadays, performances of rich traditions and ethnic roots are still a rare treat for the local audience. This autumn, the World Cultures Festival presents a selection of programmes with rich local and ethnic flavours from around the world that are not to be missed.

Angélique Kidjo: Cross-border and Crossover Star of African Music

The queen of African music Angélique Kidjo gave up her successful music career in Benin, West Africa on a quest for freedom and fled to France, where she struggled against poverty to start a new life. The past three decades have seen her prolific output from crossborder and crossover collaborations with many music greats. Even for those who have not heard of Kidjo as the leading light of African music, her duos and collaborations with such artists as Peter Gabriel, Bono, Alicia Keys, Ziggy Marley, John Legend, Herbie Hancock, the Kronos Quartet and Philip Glass should ring a bell. Crossover not only brings together different musical styles in a unique exchange, but also connects musicians and music lovers from different genres and borders with one another.

The appeal of Kidjo lies in the mix of raw power and contemporary charm in her voice. Her influences range from jazz legend Nina Simone, soul queen Aretha Franklin, godfather of funk James Brown, genius rocker Jimi Hendrix, latin-inspired Carlos Santana to South African diva Miriam Makeba, which drive her experimentation with diverse musical styles. Daring and innovative, her music weaves Afrobeat, jazz, rock and pop into a stunning fusion. Kidjo’s personal style, marked by her closecropped hair and the occasional tribal head scarf with floral print, embodies the blending of tradition and contemporary culture, as well as the joining of Africa and other cultures. The concepts and visuals in her photos and music videos also demonstrate her courage and creativity in transcending all kinds of boundaries.

Kidjo has long made use of her fame to campaign for gender equality, especially women’s rights in Africa, winning an array of accolades for her contribution to the cause. Included in the BBC’s list of 50 African Icons and The Guardian’s list of 100 Most Inspiring Women, she has received awards from Time, Forbes and UNICEF, and honorary doctorates from Yale University and Berklee College of Music, in addition to her Grammy wins and Billboard honours.

Kidjo once said her music is about “empowerment, love and joy.”

Apart from her recordings and her autobiography Spirit Rising, Kidjo’s live performances are another window into the artistry and charm of the singer-songwriter. It is a privilege for the Hong Kong audience to see this phenomenal star performs live at this year’s World Cultures Festival.

The Chieftains: Totem of Irish Music

Another highlight of the Festival is the legendary Irish band The Chieftains. Besides such icons as St. Patrick’s Day, Riverdance, Yeats and Guinness, the music of The Chieftains is definitely one of the important totems of Irish culture. Since 1962, Paddy Moloney and his bandmates have made it their mission to promote traditional Irish music, with the uilleann pipes being an emblem of its beauty. Their songs bring us into the realm of Celtic culture, where life is but a breeze across the mountains and coasts in its unison with nature.

Although a few of the band members have passed away, bandleader Moloney is still taking it in his stride to keep the legend of The Chieftains alive. Their upcoming performance in Hong Kong is sure to captivate the audience with its incredible finesse.

The Festival will also feature Japanese taiko group Kodo, Korean street dance group Jinjo Crew, and the US band Los Texmaniacs in a showcase of the development of world cultures today.

Post-script

I had my first exposure to world music in the early 1980s thanks to the releases from Peter Gabriel’s WOMAD (World of Music, Arts and Dance) and Real World Records. The faith and hopes underlying his work are inspirations for us all.

"I think it is the weak, the young and the minorities that you need to look after to get a healthy creative environment - to get a lot of choices, a lot of different styles of music, a lot of experimental stuff that everyone else feeds off."

– Peter Gabriel

安潔莉克.淇祖(貝寧)
「非洲第一天后」
──《時代》雜誌
「毋庸置疑的非洲音樂女皇」
──《每日電訊報》

《衛報》全球百大最具啟發性女性之一
兩奪格林美獎


擁抱世界的澎湃暖流

兩屆格林美獎得主安潔莉克.淇祖來自非洲大地的渾厚明亮聲線,有著穿透天空、溫暖人性的力量。非凡的音樂感染力,以及身體力行推動非洲兒童及女性權益,令她屢次獲邀在世界盛事中獻唱,如2010南非世界杯開幕音樂會、諾貝爾和平獎音樂會和聯合國大會。強大親和力的歌聲和台風,讓觀眾在沸騰的氣氛中,獲得超越文化、種族和語言的和平感召。

淇祖在西非國家貝寧出生成長,六歲時參與母親的舞台劇演出後愛上音樂,從此踏上精彩的音樂人生。她的音樂帶著鮮明非洲音樂印記,同時融匯爵士、騷靈、雷鬼、民謠和流行音樂等不同樂風,並以英語、法語、約魯巴語及豐語等語言演唱。首次在港舉行音樂會,她將聯同高手雲集的樂隊,獻唱熱力澎湃的歌曲。來!一起沐浴在非洲豐沛的音樂傳統中,分享無分彼此的大愛精神!

香港文化中心音樂廳
地圖
29.10
(四)
8pm
$450
$350
$250
$150*
*部分座位視線受阻
*Some seats may have a restricted view
溫馨提示
  • 節目全長約全長約1小時30分鐘,不設中場休息


相片: Pierre Marie Zimmerman
111
A Matter of Choice

黃志淙/ 投身音樂、傳媒、文藝及教育工作30年,現為香港大學通識教育部助理總監及叱咤903客席DJ。

在互聯網未普及之前,認識世界文化的窗戶,絕對沒有像今日的方便。因此,但凡到訪香港的異域表演(exotic performances),大家都飛身撲飛。雖然當今香港的流行音樂演出行業發達,但是,富有根源性和民族性的節目,卻依然鳳毛麟角,難得一見。因此,今年秋季的「世界文化藝術節」呈獻的多個富地方及民族文化色彩的節目,大家一定要珍惜。

安潔莉克.淇祖:跨國跨界的非洲音樂代表

非洲音樂女皇安潔莉克.淇祖,由西非貝寧(Benin)出發,為了自由,放棄已經建立多年的音樂事業,逃亡至法國,由貧窮低點再次拼搏,三十多年來的跨國跨界合作,成果豐碩,質量驚人。就算未必從非洲在地音樂文化聽過她,也可能聽聞她與Peter Gabriel、Bono、Alicia Keys、Ziggy Marley、John Legend、Herbie Hancock、Kronos Quartet和Philip Glass等流行巨星及音樂巨匠合作。Crossover的好處不僅讓各個不同的音樂元素交流,也可以打通不同領域的樂手和樂迷。

淇祖吸引樂迷, 是因為嗓子散發的原始力量中, 帶有時代時尚魅力。她的多元音樂背景,來自包括爵士傳奇Nina Simone、騷靈皇后Aretha Franklin、Funk教父James Brown、搖滾的Jimi Hendrix、拉丁達人Carlos Santana、南非天后Miriam Makeba等,促使她能夠作多方面嘗試。她的音樂勇敢創新,由Afrobeat、Jazz、Rock到Pop等交錯結合。造型方面,一頭短髮,偶爾的土著花紋頭巾,形象鮮明突出,既能結合傳統和當代文化,也能接合非洲與其他世界。還有,她在相片和MV內的意念和影像,都一一展現她衝破各種框架的勇氣和創意。

同時,由於她懂得善用自己的知名度,她一直出心出力推動婦女平權運動,特別是關注非洲女性的權益,貢獻很多,因此也被多次嘉許。淇祖贏得英國廣播公司、《衛報》、《時代》雜誌、《福布斯》、聯合國兒童基金會、耶魯大學、伯克利音樂學院等頒發的社會文化獎項,和格林美、《壁報》等音樂獎項,互相輝映。

淇祖曾說,她的音樂是關於「Empowerment(充權)、love(愛)and joy(歡愉)」。 想更深入認識她,她的唱片、自傳《Spirit Rising》以外,當然還有她的現場演出。今屆世界文化藝術節,香港樂迷將有幸欣賞這位音樂巨星的演出。

酋長樂隊:愛爾蘭音樂文化圖騰

另一個極期待的表演單位,是愛爾蘭國寶級樂隊酋長樂隊。想起愛爾蘭文化,除了St. Patrick’s Day、Riverdance、Yeats、Guinness等等之外,酋長樂隊的音樂肯定是其中一個重要圖騰。自1962年起,Paddy Moloney和隊友便以推動傳統愛爾蘭音樂為己任,愛爾蘭風笛(uilleann pipes)當然是箇中不可或缺的聲音印記。從他們的歌曲,我們可以投入Celtic文化的雋永境界,高山峻嶺,海洋美岸,與大自然和諧共處,豁達人生的瀟灑。

雖然酋長樂隊已經有幾位成員離世,但是主腦Paddy繼續堅持下去,讓傳奇承傳下去。能夠有機會在香港近距離品嚐如此「醇美佳釀」,到時大家一定要一起高呼cheers!

藝術節中還有日本太鼓樂團鼓童,韓國街舞團Jinjo Crew,以及美國德州狂迷樂隊等,大家可以現場一睹當今世界各地文化的發展。

後記

我在八十年代最初接觸世界音樂,多得Peter Gabriel的WOMAD(World of Music, Arts and Dance)和Real World Records出品。他背後的信念和夢想,很值得我們學習和敬佩。

"I think it is the weak, the young and the minorities that you need to look after to get a healthy creative environment - to get a lot of choices, a lot of different styles of music, a lot of experimental stuff that everyone else feeds off. "

– Peter Gabriel