HOME > STAGE PROGRAMMES > The Master Musicians of Jajouka led by Bachir Attar

Hong Kong City Hall Concert Hall 11.11 (Sat) 8pm

  • $400
  • $300
  • $220
  • $160

Morocco

The Master Musicians of Jajouka led by Bachir Attar

11.11 (Sat) 8pm

Seat Plan Book now

Music

Approx. 1 hour 30 minutes without intermission

Morocco

The Master Musicians of Jajouka led by Bachir Attar

  • Programme
  • Extension Activities

“One of the most musically inspiring groups still left on the planet”
— Mick Jagger, The Rolling Stones

“Intricate, hypnotic, beautiful. And if you're in the right frame of mind, mesmerising”
— Anthony Bourdain, Chef, Author, and TV personality

Enter a magical Moroccan soundscape first created more than 1,000 years ago

Jajouka is a Sufi Muslim village in the mountains of northern Morocco and home to an amazing musical tradition over 1,000 years old. Here, hereditary musicians employ local instruments such as the ghaita (double reed),lira (bamboo flute), gimbri (fourstringed lute), bendir (hand drum) and tebel (double-skinned drum) to conjure up intoxicating ritual music. Works are interwoven with complex rhythms and melodic themes that transport listeners to a transcendent realm. From the 1950s onwards, the multi-patterned sound has inspired Western avant-garde painters, writers and musicians, including Brion Gysin, Paul Bowles, William Burroughs, Brian Jones, the Rolling Stones and Ornette Coleman, to journey to Jajouka. They in turn have helped spread the village’s special musical heritage internationally.

Viewed as an inherited calling, Jajouka performers begin their training at a young age and take a lifetime to reach the level of a master. For generations, the Attar family served as prestigious court musicians to the Moroccan Sultans. In 1982, Bachir Attar took over the Master Musicians of Jajouka from his father. The group has gone on to achieve global acclaim, undertaking world tours and recordings with many celebrated artists, and receiving Canada’s Prix Miroir for World Music in 2008. The ensemble’s repertoire includes traditional and newly arranged works, along with pieces specifically preserved by the Attar family. A wonderful opportunity to experience first-hand the enigmatic sounds that have entranced so many other legendary artists!

Fast Fact:
Origins of Jajouka Music
According to myth, the very first member of the Attar family arrived in Jajouka and fell asleep in a cave. The cavern belonged to Boujeloud, a goat-man deity, whose enchanting music entered the sleeping man’s dream. When he awoke, he brought the music back to the village where it has been passed down the generations. The tomb of Islamic saint Sidi Ahmed Sheikh is also located in Jajouka and the villagers believe this has bestowed healing power on their music.
View More

Related Info

  • Meet-the-artist session after the performance
  • With lecture demonstration and foyer performance
  • Photo: Cherie Nutting

The Master Musicians of Jajouka led by Bachir Attar

Lecture Demonstration

The exhilarating, ritualistic, trance-like music from Jajouka in northern Morocco has attracted Western artistic celebrities to visit the village and seek collaborations over the past decades. In this presentation, members of the Master Musicians of Jajouka talk about the music’s history and cultural significance. They will also play excerpts to illustrate the special characteristics and performance techniques associated with different instruments.

Moderator
Kwan Yin-yee
(Music Librarian, University of Hong Kong)

Speaker
Bachir Attar

10.11 (Fri) 7:30pm-8:30pm
Hong Kong Cultural Centre Concert Hall Backstage Level 7 CR1
In English with Cantonese interpretation
Free admission. Limited seats, available on a first-come-first-served basis

Foyer Performance

Have a taste of the trance-like music as musicians from Jajouka showcase their mesmerising traditional repertoire.
11.11 (Sat) 3pm-3:30pm
Hong Kong Cultural Centre Foyer
Free admission

主頁 > 舞台節目 > 巴希爾.阿塔爾率領酋酋卡大師樂隊

香港大會堂音樂廳 11.11 (六) 8pm

  • $400
  • $300
  • $220
  • $160

摩洛哥

巴希爾.阿塔爾率領酋酋卡大師樂隊

11.11 (六) 8pm

座位表 立即購票

音樂

節目全長約1小時30分鐘,不設中場休息

摩洛哥

巴希爾.阿塔爾率領酋酋卡大師樂隊

  • 節目
  • 延伸活動

「世上最具音樂啟發性的組合之一」
— 米.積加,滾石樂隊

「綿密細緻、令人神迷、悠揚悅耳。如果你狀態剛好,甚至會感到迷幻出神」
— 安東尼.波登,國際名廚、作家和電視主持

進入摩洛哥千年音樂的玄幻境界

摩洛哥北部山區信奉伊斯蘭教蘇菲主義的酋酋卡村,繼承著一個過千年的音樂傳統。世代相傳的樂師以當地獨特的嗩吶、直笛、四弦琴、手鼓和雙面鼓等樂器演奏,樂音交織出節奏和旋律都極為複雜的玄幻儀式音樂,恍如帶著一種魔力,將人帶進出神、亢奮的精神狀態。自1950 年代起,這種神秘的音樂令歐美前衛畫家、作家和音樂家如Brion Gysin、Paul Bowles、William Burroughs、Brian Jones、滾石樂隊和Ornette Coleman 等為之著迷,爭相前往朝聖與採錄,使酋酋卡大師樂隊聲名遠播。

世襲的酋酋卡樂師自小開始訓練,並持續終身以臻大師級別。酋酋卡村的阿塔爾家族在過去長時期擔任蘇丹王的御用樂師,地位崇高。巴希爾.阿塔爾在1982年接掌酋酋卡大師樂隊,並透過世界巡演以及與知名樂手錄製唱片,帶領樂隊將祖傳音樂發揚光大。樂隊在2008 年獲加拿大Prix Miroir大獎(世界音樂)。他們演奏的樂曲包括傳統與新編作品,不少屬阿塔爾家族獨有的保存曲目。能現場感受連殿堂級藝術家也朝拜的神奇音樂魔力,夫復何求!

小知識
酋酋卡村音樂的來源
傳說中,第一個抵達酋酋卡村的阿塔爾族人在牧神Boujeloud的洞穴睡著,睡夢中聽到這個半人半羊的神向他吹奏一種十分美妙的音樂,他將音樂帶回村莊並世代相傳。酋酋卡村亦是伊斯蘭教聖人西迪.艾哈邁德.謝赫的墓地所在。村民相信,這位聖人賦予了當地音樂一種療癒的神力。
查看更多

相關資料

  • 設演後藝人談
  • 附設示範講座和大堂演出
  • 相片:Cherie Nutting

巴希爾.阿塔爾率領酋酋卡大師樂隊

示範講座

摩洛哥北部酋酋卡村的音樂,與當地的傳統敬拜慶典息息相關。這種能令人出神、亢奮的玄幻音樂,過去數十年吸引不少歐美文藝界名人前往朝聖並尋求合作。在這個示範講座中,樂隊成員將親身講解這種音樂的歷史及與當地文化的關聯,並選奏樂曲片段,示範不同樂器的特色與技巧。

主持
關燕兒
(香港大學音樂圖書館館長)

主講
巴希爾.阿塔爾

10.11 (五) 7:30pm-8:30pm
map hover香港文化中心音樂廳後台 7 樓排演室 CR1
英語主講,粵語傳譯
免費入場,座位有限,額滿即止

大堂演出

樂隊將演奏酋酋卡村傳統樂曲選段,讓觀眾淺嘗這種玄幻音樂的奧妙。
11.11 (六) 3pm-3:30pm
map hover香港文化中心大堂
免費入場